Haywire: The official Review

Posted: March 27, 2013 in Marketing, PR, Social Media, Strikeforce, UFC

I wanted to see this movie when it was in theaters.  Unfortunately, due to a hectic life – I never got around to going to the theaters.  When it hit DVD/BluRay I’ll be honest – didn’t want to pay full price on a flick I hadn’t seen yet. And no, folks – I don’t have NetFlix and I don’t have a RedBox nearby so don’t remind me those easy remedies to my laziness.

Heading into the movie I was optimistic, but skeptical.  Giving someone with limited acting creds (beyond American Gladiator) a starring role is a big risk. That said, I have to admit – I really liked this movie.  Unlike a lot of action movies that try too hard to cram in a difficult plot or tries too hard to provide depth to the characters this is a down and dirty action movie at its finest.  It reminds me a lot of the film, Ronin in that the movie jumps right in and leaves you wondering throughout what is actually going on – but not to the degree that you will turn it off and watch something else.  Carano is captivating to audiences from a looks appeal, but those that did not know her MMA background will be quickly impressed with her on screen action.  The BJJ and striking are some of the best you’ll see in a film.

Check it out and then leave me a comment, I’m curious to hear what you think of the film.

Leave a Reply

