“I’m too busy…” Yeah? Join the Club

Posted: January 28, 2013 in Marketing, PR, Social Media

Too busyPerhaps my least favorite phrase on the planet is “I’m too busy.”  Why? Because when you hear it you naturally want to say “Oh, and you think I’m not?”

The reality is we’re all busy – it is less a concern of how much is on your plate and really a matter of what are your priorities.  In this, ultimately the question is not what you have time for but what you will make time for.  What is a focus for you and what items are a necessity for you to complete (either professionally or personally).

I’ll use this blog as an example. Even a few weeks ago I apologized for my lack of posts and noted how busy my 9-5 was.  Well, I’m sure your days are busy too.  When I really stopped and thought about it, the work weeks weren’t what kept me from writing. If I truly wanted to, I would have.

Instead, I worked long days went home – and spent time with those I cared about. It does not mean I hate writing, that I lost interest in MMA or abandoned my blog.  No, it simply means I made spending time with loved ones a personal priority.

Use this as context the next time you hear the words “so busy” come out of your mouth.  Ask yourself – am I or do I just have other priorities?

Leave a Reply

