Top 5 Pieces of Jargon to Exit in 2013

Posted: December 31, 2012 in Marketing, PR, Social Media

The greatest part about social media is that everyone gets a voice.  The worst part about social media? Everyone gets a voice.

Every one person looking for intel or trying to help another is overshadowed by the hundred people complaining about something or looking for a free product.  Despite my love of sarcasm I do hate negativity…and annoying jargon.  With the explosion of social sites, the growth of the gaming industry and a young America that has grown up knowing both industries – we now have a lot of terms, phrases and words that are so over used that they lose all meaning.

Below are my “top 5” that I’d like to see wiped away before the close of 2013:

  • Epic:  Thanks to the overused word I no longer know what is actually epic.  Is it discovering a new planet, is it a middle east peace accord – oh no, you just mean you tried the new burger at a fast food joint.
  • Fail:  Fail? Really, that is all you have to say? What you call a failure, is most likely a small inconvenience. Fail.
  • Epic Fail:  By combining both hated terms into a single phrase you have let me know that your issue is so minor that I should ignore it. And, you’re likely someone I should unfollow on all networks.
  • W00t: The once noble exclamation of the gamers of my youth is now overly used by the middle aged execs I’m destined to one day become. Let’s bury this please.
  • +1:  You may not see this one as often as it comes from Google+, a social network used by Google employees. (Or so I’m told).  But when I now see the “+1” added to emails and other social networks it makes me want to delete you from all files…and life. -100.

Honorable mentions: FTW and Hat Tip.

See you all in 2013.

Comments
  1. Ryan Korzeniowski says:

    This post = WINNING!

Leave a Reply

