UFC 148 Comic Series: Silver Spider vs American Gangsta

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Marketing, PR, Strikeforce, UFC

Another interesting move by the UFC to promote a fight.

If you are a fan of the UFC Facebook page you may be aware of a new comic series sweeping the web: “The Silver Spider vs The American Gangsta.” This comic is a cartoon take on the upcoming Silva vs Sonnen II battle for the middleweight championship.

I’ll remove any of my criticisms of the feature set based on my own comic book geek mentality.  Instead, as a marketer I’ll say it is yet another creative way to engage fans and get them talking about the fight.  Of course, it is also to make some extra money as through Facebook I was sent a “deal” to buy a discounted (and limited edition) Silver Spider or American Gangsta tee shirt. Below is the 10-part series. I’ll be sure to add additions if they are posted.

Stay tuned for thoughts on the actual fight later this week.

Updated: Friday 7/6

 

Comments
  1. Ryan Korzeniowski says:

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and agree with you that it not only titillates my inner “Comic Book Guy” of the Simpsons nerve endings but that the UFC is in fact employing another unique marketing move. I also laughed when presented with the UFC’s “deal” to buy a T-Shirt commemorating the inevitable Sonnen beatdown.

    Realistically I see this as a second round KO of Sonnen or a first round brutality. I give Sonnen the same chance that I would give King Hippo of Mike Tyson’s Punchout if he were fighting Goro of Mortal Kombat. This may be the only time we see the uber-respectful martial artist, Silva, step aside and deliver a “if he dies, he dies” speech. God-willing.

  2. Ryan Korzeniowski says:

    I will have to point out one “erroneous” image though. Brazilian women do not wear bikini bottoms that cover more than 50% of their butts. Clearly erroneous.

  3. The UFC, no doubt, has become a fairly big marketing machine with only ebbs of ups and downs depending on the matches. MMA seems to have become the favorite in spectator gladiator sports. I even saw UFC action figures. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

