Here Comes the Boom Trailer

Posted: June 27, 2012 in Marketing, PR, Social Media, UFC

Forgive the broken up trailer, it was tough to find one I could embed to the blog.  The “long awaited” move is set to appear in October 2012.

I admit I was skeptical when the premise was first announced..but you know me, I always am.  The idea of a school teacher with no MMA experience jumping into the ranks of the UFC seemed ridiculous – even in movie land.  That said, in the comedy world this has the potential of being more of a Talladega Nights than it does a Semi Pro.

Alongside James is Salma Hayek and a number of the MMA world elite including: Bas Rutten, Mayhem Miller, Arianny Celeste, Mark DellaGrotte, Mike Goldberg, Tito Ortiz, and Krzysztof Soszyński, among others.

I’ll be interested to see how much cross promotion this movie gets within the UFC itself.

What are your thoughts? Will you see this movie?

Comments
  1. Ryan Korzeniowski says:

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this series and agree with you that it not only titillates my inner “Comic Book Guy” of the Simpsons nerve endings but that the UFC is in fact employing another unique marketing move. I also laughed when presented with the UFC’s “deal” to buy a T-Shirt commemorating the inevitable Sonnen beatdown.

    Realistically I see this as a second round KO of Sonnen or a first round brutality. I give Sonnen the same chance that I would give King Hippo of Mike Tyson’s Punchout if he were fighting Goro of Mortal Kombat. This may be the only time we see the uber-respectful martial artist, Silva, step aside and deliver a “if he dies, he dies” speech. God-willing.

    • Ryan Korzeniowski says:

      Woops – meant that for the other blog about the comic series. However, as a high school teacher I can assure you I will be watching “Here Comes the Boom.” I would never fight to raise money for my school though. I have a wife; she puts me on a weekly allowance. I am positive charity will not be approved by my supervisor/spouse.

Leave a Reply

