Mixed Marketing Arts Turns 200 (posts)

Posted: March 9, 2011 in Marketing, PR, Social Media

200 posts. Wow.  Feels like I just kicked this blog off yesterday…   Since May I’ve certainly learned a lot from this online adventure – the most important fact being that I wasn’t off track in focusing a blog on MMA marketing.  This sport is fascinating in itself but it is equally  interesting and dynamic as a business and marketing machine.  The growth in mainstream media coverage has been wild and it looks like my theory of MMA organizations and fighters using social media tools has been spot on as I’ve no shortage of material to write about.

But what have I learned about blogging?  I admit I’ve dabbled in the past for staff blogs, but this is the first outlet that I’ve been solely responsible for.  Well, here are few thoughts:

  • Feeding the beast is easier than you think, you just need the right food. The biggest complaint about blogging is finding the time to write.  Really? I think the problem isn’t time but your devotion to a topic. If its something you are passionate about you can churn out some rather interesting content in a matter of minutes.  I tend to create mine before the day starts and while my mind is a creative blank slate. However, in that same vain…
  • Don’t write just to write. Often times to fill my own ego of wanting to say I blog every day I found I was forcing myself to try to come up with that next great post.  Well, guess what?  If you have nothing to say – don’t.  There were days where I would write a post and then nix it before posting realizing it didn’t really say anything. Don’t waste your time or your readers time.
  • Don’t put yourself in a corner, Baby. If you think you can only write about a few finite things or feel you have to give yourself a rigid schedule, you’re probably in trouble.  What I’ve enjoyed about writing this blog is the different areas I can focus on: websites, commercials, TV specials, PPVs, brand partnerships, social media channels.  With a broader focus I can write a different post each day and never feel like I have to say “ok…today is Twitter day…what to say about Twitter….”
  • Anything worth doing is worth doing right. Don’t be in a rush to be the next best author, thought leader or guru.  If that is what your intention is, it will show and no one will want to read what you have to say.  In fact, if you are any of those terms someone else will let you know – and that is far more important.   When I first started this blog I created a separate Twitter handle as I wanted to create a brand around this outlet.  “Whatever..” (Insert valley girl voice here).  I quickly realized this was about having fun and maintaining a creative outlet outside of the 9-5 work I do.  This leads to the biggest lesson learned from blogging…
  • Be Yourself. This is really the key to consistent blogging.  Who do you sound like, You or someone YOU THINK people want to hear from?  You have a voice, use it.  If you read this blog enough you’ll notice a few things about me: I’m sarcastic, I prefer jujitsu over striking, and I’m still searching for the next big MMA star to come out of Boston.  Oh yeah, and if you read this blog you’ll also know exactly which fighters/organizations I like and those I absolutely don’t.  Why? Because I write this blog for me and if I can’t be honest with myself – who can I be honest with?

That’s all I have for now.  Thanks to those that join me here each week and hope to see you for the next 200 posts.

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    CONGRATS!!!!! I admire your consistency.

    I’ll also tell you a secret: I am the next MMA star to come out of Boston. I’ll be happy to do an interview.

  2. chaugh says:

    Hooray! Congrats on the big 200!

Leave a Reply

