Local MMA, Local M&A

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Local MMA

Well, I have to say for once the Academy Awards inspired me.  Yes, after Christian Bale gave the plug of plugs to DickEklund.com, I thought it was time to give another local school a plug.

As Best Way Jujitsu was kind enough to complete two “Mass MMA” interviews for me I’ve kept an eye to their growth.  This past weekend they announced yet another addition to their family.  Bestway BJJ has brought Ethos & Blake Academy into its ranks. The below comes directly from Ethos BJJ.  I congratulate all parties and wish them well as they move forward.

A Momentus Occasion!

Best Way Ethos

I am extremely excited to let everyone know that ETHOS and BLAKE Academy have officially joined the Best Way Family. As many of you know Andre “Dedeco” Almeida and I have become close friends and once Aaron met him it was like a match made in heaven. The natural progression was to join forces to make one incredibly strong team that now extends from Rholde Island to Maine. Best Way follows the same philosophies and ideals that we hold close.

Dedeco is from the Carlson Gracie Lineage. As many of you know, he was actually one of Alexey Cruz’s main training partners from white to brown belt before Alexey moved to Belen. Dedeco has been training Jiu-Jitsu full-time for 25 years and is a 4th degree black belt under the legendary Ricardo Liborio, founder of American Top Team and Brazilian Top Team. Dedeco also trained for many years under Ricardo De La Riva, the best guard player of all time.  You can read more about Dedeco here.

Being part of such a great team will allow our students and team members many training opportunities within a 2-3 hour drive. We will also be hosting team trainings here in Maine and also many seminars. At Best Way team trainings you can expect to have 100 guys on the mat. For our competitive athletes, we will also be part of in-house tournaments. The Best Way family has multiple gi and nogi world champions that will now be accessible for our students interested in competing at the next level. What I am most excited about is seeing the friendships that will be developed and watching a great team grow and thrive as we take our passion to the next level.

I want to thank Aaron for keeping his personal BJJ dream alive and for the risks he has taken including bringing BJJ to Maine. I also want to thank Alexey for supporting Ethos, keeping things fresh for us, being a crutch for me and for also introducing me to Dedeco. I want to thank my bjjweekly partners in crime, Bill and Rick for supporting our BJJ dreams. And I also want to thank Tony and the rest of my team at Ethos for making our school what it is today.

Expect great things from this team in 2011!

Comments
  1. Really excited to have these guys join our team/family!

Leave a Reply

