STRIKEFORCE Heavyweight PR Push Today

Posted: February 8, 2011 in Local MMA, Marketing, PR, Strikeforce

If you are in the NYC area, you may want to check out the city’s latest attraction: a meet and greet with all 8 members of the upcoming heavyweight tournament.  Given the split of criticism and excitement for the tournament I’m sure this fan event was thrown together in a hope to churn up some excitement.

Me? I still think this tournament is a mistake, but for local NYC MMA fans you may want to check this out  and see all 8 competitors while they’re healthy as I’m sure they won’t show up to their matches that way….

Comments
  1. I think this is a great PR event and I wish I could make it. I think the UFC should do something like this to introduce former WEC fighters. I feel like these fighters are making the transition to the UFC well (i.e. Cowboy Cerrone) but that the UFC could really showcase for fans and introduce to unaware fans some of the WEC’s influx of stars. Maybe something online in a chat setting on their facebook site etc.? What are your thoughts on something like that?

    Also, I think Khartinov is really the Dark Horse in the tournament and may surprise people. That being said, like everyone else I’ll be hoping to see Fedor and Werdum advance and face each other. The brackets still boggle my mind but it is what it is. Overall, I think I’ll be rooting for Werdum but I’ll be excited to see who moves on from some of the early match ups. Who is your overall pick?

Leave a Reply

