Review: Fighters Only Magazine YouTube Channel

Posted: November 10, 2010 in Bellator, Marketing, PR, Social Media, Strikeforce, UFC

In addition to the Website reviews of MMA fighters and promotions, I also be look at YouTube channels from time-to-time to see what types of videos the MMA world is pushing to you – fans and potential customers.

This week we’re checking out YouTube Channel for Fighters Only Magazine. If you’re unfamiliar with the brand we’ll turn to their marketing collateral:  “Fighters Only is the world’s leading Mixed Martial Arts magazine. In operation since 2005, Fighters Only is published monthly and available throughout Europe and North America.”

The Criteria for review:

Design: This is as basic a look as you can get.  I consider myself a minimalist, so I’m not bothered but I do know that for some folks you can only win them in a quick, beautiful second.  There is nothing that stands out about this site’s design.

Social Integration: Unlike the folks at Ecko MMA, I did not see any mentions of other sites where fans could find content.  I know from my own digging this publication also has Twitter and Facebook accounts.  This type of activity will keep fans connected to a brand across a number of streams.  It also maximizes your efforts across the social board.

Interaction: I also did not see any interaction in the comments field from Fighters Only.  Now, to be fair the main wall hadn’t had comments in months, BUT the videos are added on an ongoing basis and a simple comment from time-to-time would help in attracting returning visitors.

What I liked best: The Content!  This is a GREAT place for fans to get video interviews and behind the scenes look at various MMA events.  Within a few clicks I was enjoying interviews with top fighters like Randy Couture, Wanderlei Silva and Quinton Jackson.

What I liked least: I’d obviously like to see more interaction and social promotion on the site, however the ongoing interviews are enough to make me say there isn’t a giant “Fix this” sign on the site.  I will continue to keep an eye to it, and may write another review down the road.

Overall rating: 3/5

To view the full channel please visit: http://www.youtube.com/user/FightersOnlyMagazine

What do you think of the channel?

Comments
  1. […] too long ago, we checked out Ecko MMA and Fighters Only Magazine’s Youtube Channels.  Well, don’t think those aliens at Hulu are off my radar.  Late last week, the UFC officially […]

  2. […] – you the fans.  I’ve looked at a number of MMA brands (like Ecko MMA) and publications (like FightersOnly) now I wanted to see how the MMA organizations themselves stack […]

Leave a Reply

