Website Review: “Filthy” Tom Lawlor

Posted: October 28, 2010 in Local MMA, Marketing, PR, Social Media

Today I’ll be taking a look at Website of Fall River’s own “Filthy” Tom Lawlor.  Some fans may know Lawlor from his participation in The Ultimate Fighter: Team Nogueira vs. Team Mir season, others may know him from his colorful weigh-in attire and ring entrances.  (Personally, I’m a fan of his Apollo Creed-Rocky IV entrance.)

Based on his decisive victory over Patrick “The Predator” Cote at UFC 121, I wanted to give his Website a look and see if it came with the same intensity as the fighter.  Unfortunately, I found that this site lacks the overall personality of the MMA star.

Site Address: http://www.tomlawlor.net/

Let’s check it out and you can tell me your thoughts.

The Criteria for review:

Design/Ease-of-Use: Overall, the site is very clean. I can’t complain here.  The information is spaced out nicely and it does not give you a seizure if you stare at it head on. Given that Lawlor comes at you guns blazing, I thought the site would be an eye explosion. I am pleasantly surprised to find it so easily digestible.

Multi-Media: The page offers a pictures tab, but unfortunately there were no pictures to be seen. (As you can see to the right.) Given the great fights Lawlor has put on, and his colorful fight stunts.  This is a shame for fans.

Social Integration: The site offers a blog, and feeds to both Twitter and Facebook. The blog does offer fans a number of different videos as part of the posts.  If you aren’t following Tom on Twitter (@FilthyTomLawlor) please check him out.  He is usually good for a few laughs.

Interaction: Zero.  Now this isn’t the fault of ol’ “Filthy” and his web team. I didn’t see any user comments to respond to.  Let’s try to drive some traffic to this MA-native’s site so we can see what happens when people decide to speak out.

What I liked best: I like the beginning states of the social integration, and the fact that the blog is featured on the main page of the site.  Serving as a news feed, it helps  fans see what Tom is up to and how the training is going.

What I liked least: The lack of attention to the site.  Now, I’m a fan of Tom Lawlor, so I want to be clear that this review is relatively ill timed.  I do understand Lawlor was in a “must-win” set up in his battle with Cote, so the website was not his primary concern.  I do hope that in the months to come that I can check back and see some serious changes take place.

Overall rating: 2/5

What do you think of the site?

Comments
  1. […] addition to the Website reviews of MMA fighters and promotions, I also be look at YouTube channels from time-to-time to see what […]

Leave a Reply

