The End of an Era in MMA? Talks of Couture Retiring…

Posted: October 4, 2010 in Marketing, PR, UFC

I needed some time to think about this post, so forgive me for being behind all the other MMA blogs.  Last week, USA Today reported that Randy “The Natural” Couture may be retiring from MMA to pursue other options (MMA coaching and acting.)  In a recent interview Couture’s lawyer was quoted as saying:

“It’s possible. I’d say right now it’s a toss-up. If something came up that was interesting, he would fight irrespective of whether he got a meaningful Hollywood role. But there’s other stuff for him to do that’s MMA-related. I think many would be surprised at some of the things we are working on. So he doesn’t have to be actively fighting in the ring to remain active. Is it possible he may not fight again? Yeah, it’s possible. I’d say it’s a toss-up.”

I have to say, I would not be upset with Couture if he finally hung up his gloves for good.  Don’t get me wrong – this isn’t a slam – I love Captain America.  But the real question is, at 47 yrs old what’s left for Randy in terms of competition?  In case you live under a rock, let’s look at the accomplishments:

  • 3x Olympic team alternate (1988, 1992 and 1996); a semifinalist at the 2000 Olympic Trials
  • UFC 13 Heavyweight Tournament Winner
  • 3x UFC Heavyweight Champion
  • Oldest fighter to win a title in UFC history (43 years, 255 days)
  • 3x UFC Lightheavyweight Champion
  • First UFC fighter to hold a belt in two division
  • Wins over Tito Ortiz, Vitor Belfort, Chuck Liddell, and Mark Coleman, among others
  • Already Named to the UFC Hall of Fame

With an ongoing acting career and flourishing sidebusinesses that include Xtreme Couture gyms and various MMA/workout products and merchandise – why not enjoy his ‘golden’ years?  As much as I would love to see “The Natural” continue to defy the odds and blow Joe Rogan’s mind each PPV, I’d prefer to see him go out on the top of his career.  With his last victory over James “Lights Out until Burger King” Toney, Couture hit his last milestone – proving MMA’s worth to the boxing community.

I won’t consider this my “Thank you” post since we can never count you out Randy, but should you call it a day….

Comments
  1. […] not too long ago I wrote a potential “g’bye” post for Randy “The Natural” Couture.  I wrote it knowing full-well you can never really […]

  2. […] wrote about Couture’s potential retirement back in October and I stand by the […]

Leave a Reply

