What MMA could learn from World Cup Soccer

Posted: June 29, 2010 in Marketing

No, you didn’t read that subject line wrong.

This past weekend I was sucked into the U.S. world cup soccer game.  I have no interest in soccer and never will.  However a friend of mine – born and bred in Dublin – felt it was my duty as a U.S. citizen to show my support and watch the game.  Since I can’t argue with that, I gave it a shot….

Well, I’m still not a soccer fan, but I did see some things that I think MMA should look to better take advantage of:

  • Patriotism – I was amazed at how people came together to watch a sport they clearly had no knowledge of just to support their own country.  Chants of “USA, USA” were inspiring, and frankly addictive.  We see flags of a multitude of countries at MMA events, but what if we had an Olympic style competition of nations? Something to think about.
  • Day Events – I like to watch a fight at 10 p.m. as much as the next guy, but a day event would be a nice change of pace.  I watched this match at 2:30 p.m., had a few beers, celebrated highs and lows and was home by a decent hour.
  • Marketing – World Cup may be the only event to surpass the Superbowl in terms of pimping product.  The field had logos all over the walls that rotated to allow for more brands to be recognized.  With limited commercial interruption (much like a fight card) they took full advantage of captured eyes.
  • Vuvuzelas  – Ban them forever.  If you even see one at the door, throw the guy in the cage with the nearest fighter and set no time limit.

USA! USA! USA!

Comments
  1. Jeff says:

    Looks like you got your wish in banning Vuvuzelas, Dana White announced today that they would not be permitted in the MGM Grand for UFC 116!

Leave a Reply

