UFC Comes to Boston: 2 Month Countdown

Posted: June 28, 2010 in Local MMA, Marketing, UFC

Can you taste it? That would be my excitement of a true MMA event coming to the sports Mecca I call home: Boston, MA.  In two short months from today UFC 118 will grace the halls of the TD Bank Garden.

Unfortunately, I won’t be attending the event.  I logged in a bit too late and the only seats available were $600.00 floor seats.  I consider myself a die hard fan, but I also consider myself someone who likes making rent each month.  I was hoping that Dana White may throw the hometown crowd a bone with a price break, but he is a businessman so I can’t blame him for making a buck.  For me, I’ll settle for the PPV price where I am guaranteed the best seat in the house.

Let’s look at the line-up for the Card:

  • Frankie Edgar vs. BJ Penn: Light Weight Title Fight
  • Randy Couture vs James Toney
  • Nate Marquadt vs Rousimar Palhares
  • Kenny Florian vs. Gray Maynard
  • Nate Diaz vs Marcus Davis
  • Jorge Rivera vs Alessio Sakara
  • Joe Lauzon vs Terry Etim
  • Andre Winner vs Nik Lentz
  • Phil Baroni vs John Salter
  • Nick Osipczak vs Greg Soto
  • Mike Pierce vs Amilcar Alves

White has definitely given a great card to Beantown with many local fighters (above in bold) ready to thank their fans for supporting them with a win.  I was surprised to see John “Doomsday” Howard was not on this card but then I remembered that is because he will be on the UFC Live on VS event earlier in the month of August.

Although I will not be at the fight, I will be attending the UFC fan Expo earlier that day.  Like many others, I’ll be like a little kid waiting for autographs, photo-ops and to watch the grappling tournament.  The marketer in me is also looking forward to seeing how this expo will be pimping a wide variety of products, companies and likely, MMA schools.

Will you be attending the expo? Let me know, maybe I’ll keep an eye out for you.

Comments
  1. […] 118 Countdown: Days Away Posted on August 25, 2010 by mixedmarketingarts After weeks of waiting, the UFC has descended upon Bean Town. We are days away from UFC 118 and the UFC Fan Expo.  This […]

Leave a Reply

