UFC Invades Your Pizzeria

Posted: June 27, 2010 in Marketing, UFC

I recently wrote about UFC 116’s social media infused website as its latest promotion tool.  Well, as adept at social marketing as the UFC is, it appears it still gets ‘old school’ tactics as well.

I ordered a pizza tonight as a victory meal for my 5K and low and behold what I saw – Brock Lesnar and Shane Carwin staring me down. The boxes are part of a local cable promotion by Comcast/Xfinity to order the PPV.  I don’t think I’ll be strapping on the cardboard belt anytime soon, but I was pleased to see the UFC grace my dinner table.

I’ll be keeping an eye out to see where else this event may advertise in the coming week – perhaps the next McDonald’s Happy Meal?

Comments
  1. […] This weekend will bring BBQ, fireworks, patriotism and an MMA battle of giants.  Unless you have been living under a rock you must know that this weekend marks UFC 116: Lesnar vs. Carwin.  The UFC marketing machine has been all over this card.  They created a slick social-savvy microsite, inundated TV programs with commercials, and even dropped by my local pizza joint. […]

  2. As King of the Hobos, I’d wear the cardboard belt and wear it proudly!

Leave a Reply

